October 1, 2022
Babar Azam-led Pakistan T20 squad arrives in Dubai- BPN TODAY

Babar Azam-led Pakistan T20 squad arrives in Dubai


  • Pakistan cricket team arrived in Dubai to take part in the Asia Cup
  • Pakistan completed a clean sweep in ODI series against Netherlands
  • Pakistan will take on arch-rivals India in their opener in Dubai on 28 August

The Pakistan cricket team led by captain Babar Azam reached Dubai to participate in the Asia Cup, starting on August 27. Earlier in Amsterdam, Pakistan completed a clean sweep in the three-match ODI series against the Netherlands.

Some members of Pakistan’s T20 squad, including Iftikhar Ahmed, Usman Qadir, Haider Ali and Asif Ali, arrived in Dubai from Lahore. They replaced Abdullah Shafique, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Haris, Salman Ali Agha and Zahid Mehmood, who were part of the 16-member ODI squad against the Netherlands. Muhammad Hasnain, who replaces injured Shaheen Afridi for the Asia Cup, will fly to the United Arab Emirates from Britain.

Pakistan will take on arch-rivals India in their opener in Dubai on Sunday, 28 August, while their second Group A fixture will be against a qualifier (UAE, Kuwait, Singapore or Hong Kong) in Sharjah on Friday, 2 September. The Super Four matches will be played from 3-9 September.

The series will be played from August 27 to September 11 in Dubai and Sharjah. Sri Lanka and Afghanistan will clash in the opener of the much-anticipated event on August 27.

Pakistan squad for Asia Cup: Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Shahnawaz Dahani and Usman Qadir.

Share this

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Finnish PM Sanna Marin tests negative for drugs in wake of leaked party video- BPN TODAY Previous post Finnish PM Sanna Marin tests negative for drugs in wake of leaked party video
The first Committee meeting of the Committee on Public Finance (COPF) for the Third Session of the Ninth Parliament was held yesterday under the chairmanship of SJB MP Dr. Harsha de Silva. In accordance with the Standing Order 121, the Committee of Selection appointed Dr. de Silva as the Chairman of the Committee recently. The Committee considered and approved the Appropriation (Amendment) Bill to amend the Appropriation Act No. 30 of 2021. Furthermore, the Social Security Contribution Levy Bill was also approved. Regulations under the Foreign Exchange Act No. 12 of 2017, Order under the Special Commodity Levy Act No. 48 of 2007 and a Resolution under the Customs Ordinance (Chapter 235) also received approval of the Committee on Public Finance. Following the meeting, COPF new Chairman de Silva said it is a major responsibility as the Constitution provides full control of public finance to the Legislature. “Will do my absolute best to help resolve #SriLankaEconomicCrisis. Will bring in transparency. I will also push to establish an earlier proposed Parliamentary Budget Office to provide the committee and 225 MPs relevant analysis on all finance bills. Also will engage think tanks and academics. Plan to open sessions to the media on a phased basis,” de Silva said in a tweet.- BPN TODAY Next post Committee on Public Finance new Chief Harsha promises transparency; holds first meeting